Tasty treats at Bea’s of Bloomsbury

Beas of Bloomsbury.jpg

Luxury Lucy heads to Bea’s of Bloomsbury in London’s Holborn.

I was out shopping today and I came across the cutest little bakery, Bea’s of Bloomsbury. The shopfront had the most magnificent Valentine’s Day display with glorious tiered cakes; I just had to check it out.

The café was buzzing; always a good sign in my books. There were so many girl friends and couples doing afternoon tea, which looked amazing: mini cake stands with innumerable enticing treats – cupcakes, brownies, mini meringues…I was craving a cupcake and was overwhelmed by the choice, everything from cookies & cream through chocolate baileys to lemon meringue. I eventually settled on the red velvet cupcake, although it was a close call between that and the vanilla Nutella. I was feeling extra indulgent and topped my cupcake off with a raspberry macaron– confessions of a greedy gal! The macarons were so cute, I couldn’t resist! The cashier was adorable; he was Italian and so friendly. We got chatting and he gave me the macron free of charge: £2.90 for the cupcake and macron, what a steal!

I got the cake to go and found myself a quiet corner in a nearby park. Nothing says pure bliss like a cupcake and a good book, although I never got around to reading the book on account of my foodgasm! The cupcake was divine – the cake had a rich chocolate flavour and a moist, slightly sticky texture. In the centre was a thick chocolate ganache, which complimented the sweet buttery frosting beautifully. The macron on top was the cherry on the cake: the shell was wonderfully crisp on the outside and soft and sweet on the inside. Safe to say, I was in heaven!

I will definitely do afternoon tea with the girls sometime at one of the five London cafés. The bakery is the perfect spot to meet friends for cake or to treat you mum. The website is also worth checking out – you can place orders for cupcakes and even design your own cake, speaking of which…

Lucy x

lucy-7

Address: Bea’s of Bloomsbury, 44 Theobalds Road, London WC1X 8NW

Website: http://www.beas.london/

Leave a Reply

