Going gluten-free in North London

Going gluten free doesn’t mean you have to cut out all tasty treats. To get my sweet fix I headed to The Artisan Bakery in Islington.

A short walk from Highbury & Islington station is the cute, cosy and totally gluten-free cafe. The shabby chic interior matches the rustic feel of the food.

They had a huge selection of cakes, cookies and croissants! I chose a slice of coffee and caramel sponge cake.

coffee

Unfortunately, I was disappointed with my choice.. Although the cake was very moist and ticked the very important gluten-free box, it lacked flavour. Sometimes free-from cakes are dry and crumbly, but this coffee cake had a lovely texture. The frosting was sweet and sticky and made up for the bland sponge.

I was a bit disappointed with my visit to The Artisan, but I would like to go back and try one of their scrumptious looking pastries instead!

Maybe you really can’t have your cake and eat it…

summerset-3

Leave a Reply

