Dominique’s Kouign-Amann: a bit of Brittany in London

Well you have probably already seen my friend’s review, aka Luxury Lucy, on Dominique Ansel Bakery and its cronuts but as a French in London, I will today describe how good it was to find a bit of my country’s specialities here!

 

Close to Victoria Station, while walking under a bright British sun, I have been attracted by this amazing yellow awning overhanging a lovely front window allowing me to see the overjoyed face of customers inside.

IMG_9125

IMG_9131As soon as I got in, the smell coming out of the massive hoven in the middle of the shop delighted me. I felt like I knew this smell, it was a bit like a “Madeleine de Proust”, something that brings you years ago in your youth… I got it! Butter and caramelised sugar, it must be the famous Kouign-Amann and it is!

Nothing better than this but are English really able to reproduce the outstanding taste of this speciality?

IMG_9134

Here I am, seated in the small conservatory at the end of the bakery, with my “DKA”, the Dominique’s Kouign Amann”. One bite and I am travelling across the Channel directly to Dinard, the town of my entire youth. It is caramelized on the outside, within flaky and tender layers. Oh mon dieu ils sont forts ces Anglais!

IMG_9140

 

 

 

£4.50, it is expensive but it definitely worth it!

 

 

Leave a Reply

